Events

We will post our NAJC events, events where you can meet us, and also, our member organizations’ online events.

Upcoming

An Indigenous Awareness Training – June 2024

We are delighted to have Bob Goulais, an Anishinaabe from Nipissing First Nation to help enlarge our awareness of the contemporary impacts and legacy of Indian Residential Schools, the 60s Scoop and Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls....

DETAILS

Online Japanese College Fair Spring 2024

Join Us at the Online Japanese College Fair Spring 2024 – Featuring 12 Prestigious   Event Details: Date: May 21-23, 2024 (PDT: US Pacific Daylight TIme) Location: Online Registration: https://bit.ly/DAIGAKU24SPEN (Participation is free of charge) Languages: Information available in...

DETAILS

JC Legacies – Intergenerational Wellness – Second Intake Deadline May 20

Intergenerational Wellness Intake 2 – Applications Now Open The deadline for applications for applications for Intergenerational Wellness grants is Monday, May 20 FAMILY APPLICATIONS Family Sharing and Healing (Category 1) is for families impacted by Government policies and actions...

DETAILS

JCLS – Intergenerational Wellness & Sports

Intergenerational Wellness Intake 2 – Now Open for Applications International Wellness is a program stream of the Community Fund. It originates from the advocacy work of sansei community activists, and from the voices of bold young leaders across Canada. As...

DETAILS

2024 Japanese Canadian Young Leaders Conference: Registration now open!

The NAJC’s Young Leaders Committee is bringing back the Japanese Canadian Young Leaders Conference for the first time since the pandemic! The Japanese Canadian Young Leaders Conference is a weekend-long conference to connect, educate and learn from young Japanese...

DETAILS

Please enjoy these archived recordings and interview from previous online sessions.

Past

Art Miki Book Launch Events

The Eastern Canada launch of Art’s book, Gaman – Perserverence will be up-close and in-person on May 1st and 2nd.   Heritage Lounge – Japanese Canadian Cultural Centre Wednesday, May 1st | Doors open at 6:30 p.m. Location: Heritage Lounge,...

DETAILS

Book Launch Events Coming Up!

NAJC is  thrilled to announce that ART MIKI will be launching his new book with two special events! Here are the details: Event 1: Book Launch at NNMCC Date: Friday, April 12 Time: 7:00 pm Location: NNMCC (Nikkei National...

DETAILS

The Impact and Roles of Japanese Community Centres in Canada

Webinar: The Impact and Roles of Japanese Community Centres in Canada Time: Monday, 25 March, 18:00-20:00 MDT (in person and online) Online, via Zoom (please register here: https://www.ualberta.ca/prince-takamado-japan-centre/research/ptjc-webinar-series/2023-2024.html), and also in person, at Telus Centre 134, University of Alberta, Edmonton. Refreshments will...

DETAILS

Hybrid event – The Vow from Hiroshima

Setsuko Thurlow: Q&A and film screening ”The Vow from Hiroshima” Thu, Mar 21, 2024 3:00pm – 5:00pm PDT (4:00pm – 6:00pm MDT/ 5:00pm – 7:00pm CDT/ 6:00pm – 8:00pm EDT ) Film & Q&A session with Setsuko Thurlow The...

DETAILS

The national dialogue hosted by GVJCCA

A vital Zoom meeting is happening on March 16, 2024, from 1-3:30 PM PST to support the families and communities of murdered and missing Indigenous women, girls, and 2 Spirit+. This national dialogue, hosted by GVJCCA in partnership with...

DETAILS

JAMSNET-CANADA : Events and Community Resources for February and March

1)東京キャラバンメイト事務局認知症サポーター優良活動事例「特別賞」受賞 1300万人もの認知症サポーターを養成している東京キャラバンメイト事務局から当プロジェクトは認知症サポーター優良活動事例「特別賞」表彰を受賞しました。去年から今年にかけて、カナダ全国8都市を回り500名以上の方がワークショップを受け、認知症サポーターとなってくださった成果です。多くの認知症サポーターの皆様、そして多大な支援をくださった日系団体、個人の皆様に心からのお礼を申し上げます。

DETAILS
Quebec attack

OPEN HOUSE: NAJC Human Rights Committee

Wednesday, March 6th  4:30-6pm PST / 5:30pm-7pm MST / 6:30pm-8pm CST / 7:30pm-9pm EST Online by zoom. REGISTER HERE: https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZEsduysqzIsHtOZphwjGQDzcuAUnpdJSsiU Do you have questions about the NAJC’s programming around human rights? Do you have ideas about what the Japanese-Canadian...

DETAILS

EDGES OF INTERNMENT

EDGES OF INTERNMENT: Presentation by PWFC Research Award Winners Feb 27, 2024 | 3:00 PM – 4:15 PM PST | Zoom Meeting Register Now Register Now   Share Your Achievements We invite you to share any recent publications, noteworthy...

DETAILS

日系カナダ史セミナーPart 2

View this email in your browser English below. Please share to your Japanese speaking friends. 日系カナダ史セミナーPart 2 日系カナダ史セミナー Part2 第1回:「カナダとわたし」 ゲスト:田中勝邦・広島カナダ協会理事 ー広島・モントリオール交流事業 ー朝日チーム投手・土井健一の家族史 2024年2月21日(水) 5PM PT/6PM MT/ 7PM CT/8PM ET 日本時間2月22日(木)朝10時 登録はこちらから

DETAILS

Surrey Japanese Canadian Network

If you have family who were living in Surrey B.C. before 1942 or after 1949 join the discussion on a plan to share stories in a permanent display. The City of Surrey and the Surrey JC Network are holding...

DETAILS

Upcoming Book Talk on January 23

Inspirational Dialogues: Upcoming Virtual Book Talk The Architecture of Confinement – Incarceration Camps of the Pacific War Jan 23, 2024 | 3:00 PM – 4:00 PM PST | Zoom Meeting Register Now    

DETAILS

Online webinars for the non-profit and voluntary sector in Alberta

Online webinars are offered by the Community Development Unit throughout the year to support the non-profit and voluntary sector in Alberta. Live webinars topics include board governance basics, grant writing, cybersecurity, roles of the board executives and many more....

DETAILS