Freedom Day Celebration

Freedom Day Celebration
Thursday, April 1, 2021
4pm PDT | 5pm MDT | 6pm CDT | 7pm EDT

The Toronto NAJC Board of Directors invites Japanese Canadians from across Canada to a community event geared towards intergenerational engagement and conversation. The starting point of discussion will be voting rights, democracy. In this year of change making, everything is on the table.

You might be surprised by who might join you in your breakout room.  We remember April 1, 1949 as the day Japanese Canadians were allowed to move freely in Canada and received the right to vote.

The evening will begin with a SPECIAL ANNOUNCEMENT BY MAYOR JOHN TORY and proceed as follows:

Hide Hyodo Shimizu Video (5 minutes)

Quiz – JC Enfranchisement (10 minutes)

Video – The Vote (3 minutes)

Breakout Sessions (30 minutes)

Team presentations (25 minutes)

Parting words (5 minutes)

QUESTIONS: [email protected].

REGISTER HERE: https://bit.ly/3vTpXWk


FREEDOM DAY VIDEO – Send us yours!

As we reflect on Freedom Day, why is voting important to you?

Tell us by video what you think. Click the link below to upload a 10 to 20 second video. (include a 2-3 second buffer before and after you speak)

https://forms.gle/d8Ht7yFvexLfbube6

Note: By uploading this video you give the Toronto NAJC permission to include your video for our Freedom Day 2021 event and/or social media. Please record yourself in landscape mode (hold smartphone horizontally). A Google account is required to upload your video. If you do not have a google account, please email your video or File Sharing Link to [email protected]

Scroll to top