NAJC President’s Message – May 2022

by Lorene Oikawa May is Asian Heritage Month. Another opportunity to share our stories and to learn about other Asian cultures in East Asia, Southern Asia, Western, Central and Southeast Asia. There are about 48 countries, and they vary greatly in terms of ethnicity, culture, religion, economies, government systems, climate, history and food. Within each...Continue reading

Asian Heritage Month Screening

May is Asian Heritage Month. As part of explorASIAN, the National Association of Japanese Canadians is hosting an online screening of Migration + Resilience = BC: An Untold History Friday, May 27, 2022 6pm Pacific | 7pm Mountain | 8pm Central | 9pm Eastern  Join filmmaker Kevin Eastwood and Japanese Canadian storytellers Mas Fukawa and...

Remembering Norman Mineta

The NAJC heard the sad news that Norman Mineta died. He was the first Asian American cabinet member who served both President Bill Clinton and President George W. Bush. He served as the United States Secretary of Transportation, the only Democratic Cabinet Secretary in the Bush administration. His role was an important one especially during...Continue reading

GVJCCA Commends BC’s Anti-Racism Data Legislation

Greater Vancouver Japanese Canadian Citizens’ Association (GVJCCA) Commends BC’s Anti-Racism Data Legislation Introduced May 2, 2022 VANCOUVER, BRITISH COLUMBIA, CANADA, May 2, 2022 The GVJCCA was one of over 70 BC community groups who were engaged in a provincial consultation project from November, 2021 through January, 2022 on how demographic data on racialized and marginalized...

Terumi Kuwada Shares Her Family Story

Terumi Kuwada, a Past President of the National Association of Japanese Canadians, shares her family story for the 80th Anniversary of Internment. As we reflect on the 80th Anniversary of the Japanese Canadian Internment, I think of my father, Hisao (Henry) Kuwada, who was born in Japan and considered a higher risk in the name...Continue reading

Wednesday is National Canadian Film Day!

NAJC is again hosting the annual National Canadian Film Day and celebrating Canadian film. This year we are highlighting an Indigenous film, Falls Around Her. Join us on Wednesday April 20 at 5:30pm Pacific | 6:30pm Mountain | 7:30pm Central | 8:30pm Eastern | 9:30pm Atlantic Register at this link: Falls Around Her When a world-famous...

NAJC President’s Message – April 2022

By Lorene Oikawa April showers are here, but on the west coast we are also deluged by blossoms. Don’t hate us. It is also aggravating allergies. Cherry blossoms remind us to take in the beauty before it is gone. Enjoy nature wherever you are. The National Association of Japanese Canadians is preparing for a busy...Continue reading

Connie Kadota shares her family story

We asked Connie Kadota, sansei, third generation Japanese Canadian, filmmaker, retired educator to share her family story for the 80th anniversary of Incarceration and 75th anniversary of the founding of the NAJC. Thinking about these two important anniversaries, I am reminded of my Kadota grandfather Kantaro, my father Charles and my Uncle Gordon.  They were...Continue reading

Scroll to top