2016-2018 National Executive Board Confirmed

(L-R: David Mitsui, Susan Matsumoto, Lisa Uyeda, Susanne Tabata, Lorene Oikawa, Noreen Kuroyama, Michiko Yano-Shuttleworth, Bev Ohashi, Jim Suzuki (National Administrator). Absent: Eiko Eby, Ken Noma (Executive Director). Photo: Paul Jette

NAJC 2016-2018 National Executive Board Members
At its Annual General Meeting and Conference held in the City of Calgary earlier this month, member organizations (National Council) confirmed the new Board for the 2016 to 2018 term.  The slate of officers are as follows:

President: David Mitsui (Edmonton)
Vice President: Lorene Oikawa (Vancouver)
Madame Secretary: Michiko Yano-Shuttleworth (Toronto)
Treasurer: Noreen Kuroyama (Toronto)
Past President: Bev Ohashi
Director (Constitution and Resolutions Committee): Susan Matsumoto (Calgary)
Director (Heritage): Lisa Uyeda (Vancouver)
Appointed Director (Arts, Culture and Education): Susanne Tabata (Vancouver)
Director (Membership): Eiko Eby (Nanaimo)

Member organizations of the NAJC would like to thank the outgoing executive members: Lisa Schoenhofer, Valerie Hoshizaki-Nordin, Lillian Nakamura Maguire and Kevin Okabe for their service to the NAJC.

Calgary AGM/Conference a resounding success!
Thanks go out to the Calgary Japanese Community Association, Calgary Community and Seniors’ Foundation and the tireless team of volunteers for organizing one of the best NAJC AGM/Conference to date. Thank you also to the members of the Conference Planning Committee for having organized the wonderful 100th anniversary celebration in honour of the Issei volunteers.
We look forward to the 2017 AGM in Ottawa hosted by the Ottawa Japanese Community Association.  The event will be held at the Museum of Canadian History with accommodations at the Four Points Sheraton Hotel in Gatineau, Quebec.

Scroll to top