JAPANESE CANADIANS SEEK REDRESS WITH PROVINCE OF BRITISH COLUMBIA

Photo courtesy Tosh Kitagawa

NAJC Delivers Report to BC Government

A delegation from the National Association of Japanese Canadians met with the B.C. Government on Friday, November 15 to hand-deliver a report recommending key actions to address the historic wrongs committed against Japanese Canadians. The report, Recommendations for Redressing Historical Wrongs Against Japanese Canadians in BC, presents the results of months of community consultations with hundreds of Japanese Canadians about initiatives government could undertake as meaningful follow up to a 2012 Motion of Apology in the BC legislature.

“The Japanese Canadian community recognizes and appreciates the symbolic apology made by the B.C. government in 2012”, said Oikawa. “However, no meaningful action followed that apology. This report examines what is needed to rebuild the Japanese Canadian community, including reclaiming a physical presence in the cities in which we were erased, and ensure what happened to us never happens again to Canadians of any ethnicity or orientation. This is an opportunity for us to foster positive changes that not only pay tribute to Japanese Canadians but benefit B.C. society as a whole.”

READ MORE

Minister’s statement on the National Association of Japanese Canadians’ report

Lisa Beare, Minister of Tourism, Arts and Culture has issued the following statement after receiving the National Association of Japanese Canadians’ report, Recommendations for Redressing Historical Wrongs Against Japanese Canadians in BC: Community Consultation:

“We recognize the significant harm that came to Japanese Canadians as a result of provincial government actions before, during and after the Second World War.

“That's why we provided $30,000 to support the National Association of Japanese Canadians in holding a series of meetings that would provide a forum for community members to offer their recommendations for legacy initiatives.

“I want to thank the National Association of Japanese Canadians, as well as everyone who took part in the meetings, for their contributions in these consultations. This is important work, and I was pleased to formally receive the report today.

“The report includes detailed recommendations on how we can move forward together and properly acknowledge the hardship people suffered as a result of government actions.

“We are now taking the time to carefully review the recommendations. Once this is completed, I look forward to continuing to work with the association on a plan for legacy initiatives that bring awareness to these historic wrongs and make sure they never happen again.”

Original Link

 

Please click this link to view or download the complete report, Recommendations for Redressing Historical Wrongs Against Japanese Canadians in BC Community (PDF, 7 MB)

(click to open or right click to download the PDF to your computer)

 

 

Please click this link to view or download the complete Appendices of the Recommendations for Redressing Historical Wrongs Against Japanese Canadians in BC Community Consultations Report (PDF, 9.2 MB)

(click to open or right click to download the PDF to your computer)

 

BC Redress Resources

Community Consultations Resource | Discriminatory Legislation in BC 1895 to 1936 | Discriminatory Legislation in BC, 1872 to 1948

click to view PDF files or right click to download

Over 60 years of racist legislation and discrimination in British Columbia (BC) culminated in the province’s critical role in the forced removal, internment, confiscation of property, and forced exile of 22,000 Japanese Canadians during 1942 to 1949. Recent research shows the BC government and its officials were complicit directly and indirectly in the unjust actions leading to the devastation of the Japanese Canadian community.

The Government of British Columbia’s official Apology Motion to Japanese Canadians in 2012 was issued without prior community-wide participation.  It did not formally assume responsibility for past injustices and was not followed by redress or legacy initiatives at the time, which many saw as a missed opportunity for meaningful follow-up and healing.

In June 2019, the National Association of Japanese Canadians (NAJC) will conduct a series of Japanese Canadian community consultation meetings across BC to provide community members a voice in offering recommendations for redress and legacy initiatives to the Government of British Columbia.

The consultations will identify new opportunities to make visible the history of injustice, support the sustainability of the Japanese Canadian community, and highlight the contributions of Japanese Canadians to creating a just and prosperous society for all.

Though there is only a dwindling number of victims directly affected by internment, the NAJC and Japanese Canadian community members strongly believe that it is a critical time to capture their voices and experiences.  Through this process, Japanese Canadians want to ensure that the Government of British Columbia assumes greater responsibility for these injustices and builds a new relationship based on a mutual commitment to an inclusive and equitable province.

The NAJC acknowledges the Government of British Columbia’s interest in resolving its outstanding historic wrongs. At the conclusion of these meetings, the NAJC will collate the inputs and present the Government of British Columbia with its recommendations.

Achieving justice and closure to this dark chapter in BC’s history will signify a most meaningful outcome for all British Columbians, and indeed Canadians more widely, to ensure this injustice is never again committed in Canada.



Online Consultations

Tuesday, August 20, 2019
7:00 PM PDT
8:00 PM MDT
9:00 PM CDT
10:00 PM EDT

Internet Videoconference using Zoom
Intended for Residents of British Columbia

COMPLETED

Sunday, August 18, 2019
5:00 PM PDT
6:00 PM MDT
7:00 PM CDT
8:00 PM EDT

Internet Videoconference using Zoom
Intended for Residents living outside of British Columbia

COMPLETED

Monday June 24, 2019
6:30pm PDT
7:30pm MDT
8:30pm CDT
9:30pm EDT

Internet Videoconference using Zoom
Intended for Residents of British Columbia

COMPLETED

Wednesday, June 26, 2019
4:30pm PDT
5:30pm MDT
6:30pm CDT
7:30pm EDT

Internet Videoconference using Zoom
Intended for Residents living outside of British Columbia

COMPLETED

Tuesday July 9, 2019
6:30pm PDT
7:30pm MDT
8:30pm CDT
9:30pm EDT

Internet Videoconference using Zoom
Intended for Residents of British Columbia

COMPLETED

Wednesday, July 17, 2019
4:30pm PDT
5:30pm MDT
6:30pm CDT
7:30pm EDT

Internet Videoconference using Zoom
Intended for Residents living outside of British Columbia

COMPLETED


Community Consultations

Monday, August 12, 2019
7:00 PM to 9:00 PM

Ottawa

Ottawa Japanese Cultural Centre
2285 St Laurent Blvd. Unit #B16
Ottawa, ON


Wednesday, July 24, 2019
3:00 PM to 5:30 PM

New Denver

Knox Hall
521 6th Avenue
New Denver, BC


Sunday, July 21, 2019
1:00 PM to 3:30 PM

Edmonton

Edmonton Japanese Community Association Centre
6750 88 Street
Edmonton, AB


Saturday, June 15, 2019
1:00 PM to 4:00 PM

Burnaby

Nikkei National Museum & Cultural Centre
6688 Southoaks Crescent
Burnaby, BC


Tuesday, June 18, 2019
7:00 PM to 9:30 PM

Kamloops

Kamloops Japanese Canadian Cultural Centre
160 Vernon Avenue
Kamloops, BC


Wednesday, June 19, 2019
7:00 PM to 9:30 PM

Vernon

Vernon Japanese Cultural Centre
4895 Bella Vista Road
Vernon, BC


Thursday, June 20, 2019
7:00 PM to 9:30 PM

Kelowna

Hinode Home (Common Room)
1920 Burtch Road
Kelowna, BC


Saturday, June 22, 2019
11:00 AM to 2:00 PM

Nanaimo

Christ Community Church
2221 Bowen Road
Nanaimo, BC


Saturday, June 22, 2019
11:00 AM to 1:00 PM

Victoria

Archie Browning Sport Centre
1151 Esquimalt Road
Victoria, BC


Thursday, June 27, 2019
12:30 PM to 3:00 PM

Calgary

Calgary Nikkei Cultural & Seniors Centre
2236—29th Street SW
Calgary, AB


Friday, July 5, 2019
7:00 PM to 9:30 PM

Vancouver

Vancouver Japanese Language School Hall, Room 416
487 Alexander Street
Vancouver, BC


Sunday, May 26, 2019
1:30 PM to 4:00 PM

Hamilton

Canadian Japanese Cultural Centre
45 Hempstead Drive
Hamilton, ON


Sunday, June 2, 2019
1:30 PM to 3:30 PM

Winnipeg

Japanese Cultural Association of MB
180 McPhillips Street
Winnipeg, MB


Sunday, June 9, 2019
1:30 PM to 4:00 PM

Toronto

Momiji Centre
3555 Kingston Road
Scarborough, ON