NAJC celebrates National Canadian Film Day with Obachan’s Garden

National Association of Japanese Canadians celebrates National Canadian Film Day with a screening of Obachan’s Garden.

Filmmaker Linda Ohama will be available for a Q&A session after the screening.

April 21, 2021

6pm PDT | 7pm MDT | 8pm CDT | 9pm EDT

Film: 1 hr 34 min
Q&A: 30-60 min


Peeling back the layers of her grandmother’s life, filmmaker Linda Ohama discovers a painful, buried past in this feature-length documentary. Asayo Murakami, 103 years old, recalls life in Japan, her arrival in Canada as a “picture bride,” her determination to marry a man of her choice, the bombing of Hiroshima and the forced relocation of her family during WWII. Beautifully rendered dramatic sequences are merged with an exquisite collection of memories, feelings, images and voices. Culminating in an emotional reunion with a long-lost daughter, this film is a personal reflection of Japanese-Canadian history and a testament to one woman’s endurance and spirit.
Facebook event page: https://bit.ly/3tpNbS2
Scroll to top